twinklelittleart

New Year’s Noisemakers

Posted on: December 27, 2011

It’s so hard to believe that within a week, we’ll be celebrating the start of a new year.  Here’s a craft that my daughter and I did last year.  One that allows children to use their creativity, and one that uses old paper towel rolls.  My favorite type of craft!

What you need:

– paper towel rolls
– wax paper or tissue paper
– rubber band
– crayons, markers, stickers, and other embelishments
– glue
– hole punch

Directions:

– Wrap a small piece of wax paper or tissue paper around one end of the paper towel roll and attach using a rubber band.

– Using the hole punch, make a hole in each side on the top of the paper towel roll.

– Ask your children to decorate the paper towel roll however they choose.  Have a lot of different materials available for children to choose from (and see my note below about creativity.

– Let children blow into the paper towel roll and make some fantastic party noises!

Notes:

– My daughter chose to make our noisemaker look like “Tasha” from the Backyardigans.

– This was very easy for me to use.  When my daughter tried, it didn’t quite make the sound that it did when I used it.  It was not an issue though, my daughter then chose to use it as a puppet.

– Michelle

Leave a Reply

